The Weight

It’s well-known that babies like to listen to singing while being held and rocked.  So, as new parents, that’s what we do when our almost-fussy Rosalie threatens to spiral into being really upset. We’ve tried a variety of songs, and the surprising magic bullet thus far is The Band’s anthem The Weight (for your listening pleasure: Youtube slideshow version here, and Gillian Welch/OCMS here).  I knew the words before, more or less, but through repeated singing I’ve gotten much better at remembering them.  As a bonus, the end of the “Go down Miss Moses” verse can be modified nicely to:

“Well, Luke, my friend, what about young Rosalie?”
He said, “Do me a favor, son, won’t ya stay and keep Rosalie company?”

Below, Onkel Chris holding Rosalie, before the singing of The Weight:

Rosalie 012

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Weight

  1. Tom Mehan says:

    Let me help and recall: Pulled in to Nazareth, was a’feeling bout half past dead. Just needed someplace where I could lay my head. Hey, Mister, can you tell me where a man might find a bed? He just grinned, he shook my hand, “No” was all he said. Take a load off Fanny. Take a load for free. Take a load off Fanny, and he put the load right on me. (And then came Crazy Chester following him and catching him in the ban.) But, boy, do I like the new refrain. Well, done.

Leave a Reply

